Women Ballon d’Or: Top 15 Nominees Revealed


For the first time in the history of women football, the Ballon d’Or will be awarded to best female player on earth.

Previously, women football got recognition when the award was a merger between FIFA and French Football Magazine, organisers of the Ballon d’Or.

The pair parted ways in 2016 and since then have been organising separate awards.

FIFA Awards have recognised the best women footballers since 2001.

French Football Magazine will honour the best female footballer in 2018, the first time since 1956.

Fifteen players  have been nominated for the honour of being the pioneer Women Ballon d’Or winner.


  1. Lucy Bronze (England/Lyon)
  2. Pernille Harder (England/Wolfsburg)
  3. Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Lyon)
  4. Amandine Henry (France/Lyon)
  5. Lindsay Horan (USA/Portland)
  6. Sam Kerr (Australia/Perth)
  7. Kirby Fran (England/Chelsea)
  8. Saki Kumagai (Japan/Lyon)
  9. Amel Majri (France/Lyon)
  10. Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Lyon)
  11. Marta (Brazil/Orlando)
  12. Lieke Mertens (Netherland/FC Barcelona)
  13. Megan Rapinoe (USA/Seattle)
  14. Wendie Renard (France/Lyon)
  15. Christine Sinclair (Canada/Portland)

About Author

Macaulay Maduwuba is the Chief Content at Kanu Sports TV

Leave A Reply