CAF names Kanu, Drogba, Eto’o seven legends as Ambassadors


The Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF) has picked seven legends as envoys for the looming Total Africa Cup of Nations, Egypt 2019.

Afcon 2019: CAF names seven legends as Ambassadors

CAF has named Mahmoud El Khateeb (Egypt), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba (Both Cote d’Ivoire), Rabeh Madjer (Algeria), Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria) and El Hadji Diouf (Senegal) as envoys for the mainland’s leader rivalry, that commences on 21 June 2019 and keeps going till 19 July 2019 in the Egyptian urban areas of Cairo, Alexandria, Ismailia and Suez.

Mahmoud El Khateeb

Positioned among the best African players ever, El Khateeb was the primary Egyptian to win African Player of the Year in 1983. “Bibo” as he is affectionately called among Egyptian supporters won the Africa Cup of Nations with Egypt at home in 1986.

Samuel Eto’o

Eto’o is generally viewed as the best player ever of. A four-time CAF Player of the Year (2003,2004,2005 and 2010), he likewise won the Africa Cup of Nations with Cameroon in 2000 and 2002.

Yaya Toure

The Ivorian implementer positions among the best in his local, Africa and rest of the world. Toure was delegated CAF Player of the Year for a remarkable multiple times in succession (2011, 2012, 2013 &2014), and eventually managing Cote d’Ivoire to the Africa Cup of Nations in 2015.

Didier Drogba

Double cross CAF Player of the Year – 2006 and 2009, Drogba positions among the preeminent advances of his age. Other than triumphs at club level, he showed up in five AFCONS (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012 and 2013) achieving the last in 2006 and 2012.

Rabeh Madjer

Madjer was a piece of the squad that won Algeria’s AFCON title, 1990 on home soil. He is venerated by all and is acclaimed for his spell with Portuguese side Porto. He likewise won the Ballon d’or Africain in 1987.

Nwankwo Kanu

‘Papilo’ as he is affectionately called included six AFCON versions from 2000 to 2010. The feature of his vocation was his crowning ceremony as CAF Player of the Year in 1996 and 1999.

El Hadji Diouf

He remains the main Senegalese to have been delegated CAF Player of the Year, enriched in 2001 and 2002. Diouf was a key individual from the Teranga Lions brilliant age that stood out as truly newsworthy over the world in the mid 2000’s.


About Author

Leave A Reply