Caf Awards: The 27th Edition Holds in Dakar Senagal On Tuesday


The yearly CAF Awards enters its 27th release this year and the Awards Gala will happen without precedent for Dakar, the capital of Senegal.

On Tuesday, 8 January 2019; the King of African football will be delegated at the Center International de conférences Abdou Diouf (CICAD) in Dakar, among the trio of a year ago’s victor, Mohamed Salah of Egypt, 2015 champ Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Senegalese Sadio Mane.

From 1992 to 2017, from Ghana’s Abedi Pele to Salah, 17 players have made a case for the most esteemed individual respect in African football.

Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o was the first to be delegated on four events – 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010; a record since equalled by Ivorian Yaya Toure, who made it four successes on the run (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014). Previous Senegal forward, El Hadji Diouf likewise won the honor twice consecutively; 2001 and 2002.

Nonetheless, the principal player to have been named CAF African Player of the Year on two events was ex-Nigeria skipper, Nwankwo Kanu, in 1996 and 1999. The accomplishment was recreated by Ivorian symbol Didier Drogba in 2006 and 2009.


About Author

Leave A Reply